Skip to main content
Print this page
Larger Smaller Text Size

List of approved universities

We have listed the approved universities below.  Please click on the relevant university to see the corresponding section of the guide entitled 'Am I a Qualified Person?' which lists the other “qualified person” requirements for that particular university (e.g. citizenship, type of degree, class of honours or ranking etc).




National University of Singapore

Singapore Management University

United Kingdom

University of Birmingham

University of Bristol

University of Cambridge

University of Durham

King’s College, London, University of London

London School of Economics and Political Science, University of London

Queen Mary and Westfield College, University of London

University College, University of London

University of Nottingham

University of Oxford

University of Warwick

United Kingdom

The following 8 UK universities will be removed from the list of approved universities with effect from the 2016/2017 UK Academic Year (i.e. Sep/Oct 2016 onwards)

Transitional provisions will be put in place to allow Singaporean citizens and permanent residents who have before 1 October 2015 secured a place to read the LL.B (Honours) in the omitted UK OSU, or have been admitted to the UK OSU for the Academic Year 2015/2016 LL.B (Honours) intake (whichever is the later date) to remain eligible for admission to the Singapore Bar. The other eligibility criteria and requirements for admission to the Singapore Bar, which are summarized in the link below, will continue to apply to them:

University of Exeter

University of Leeds

University of Leicester

University of Liverpool

School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London

University of Manchester

University of Sheffield

University of Southampton


Australian National University

Flinders University

Monash University

Murdoch University

University of Melbourne

University of New South Wales

University of Queensland

University of Sydney

University of Tasmania

University of Western Australia

New Zealand

University of Auckland

Victoria University of Wellington

United States of America

Columbia University

Harvard University

New York University

University of Michigan

Certain law degrees from the following universities will also be recognised if you commenced the course of study leading to the degree before 1st January 1994 and applied for admission to the Singapore Bar on or before 2 May 2012:


Osgoode Hall, University of York

University of Toronto

Hong Kong

University of Hong Kong


University of Malaya

Last updated on 24 Feb 2015